14
Oct
08

ROCK THE VOTE? OBAMA=CHANGE?

It gets lonely being one of the few people of color skeptics of Obama and the electoral voting system.  It was easier being a woman who wasn’t down with Hillary.  All my friends are won over by the King of Change, and I swear before those debates, I think I was singing along to the videos too.

I KNEW Mumia would have some knowledge that would make me not feel so alone.  I registered to “ROCK THE VOTE” the other day.  I am voting in San Francisco so I can support PROP K to decriminalize prostitutution in San Francisco.  Fuck marriage, let’s talk about prostitution.  (NO on PROP 8, though) I want to publically state that even though I am voting, I remain entirely skeptical of the system, of Obama’s promises and of his ability to make the kind of Change that we really seek, or if he is really in touch with what that might be.  I want to relish in the joy of seeing a Black president, but wonder if anything major will change besides the face of hegemoney (sic).

“But he is better than BUSH!” and “BUSH=McCain!!” and Sarah Palin is INEXPERIENCED!  I swear I think that people read taglines and decide to repeat them on every media source.  We vow to repeat the same things over and over again so everyone on each binary stays unified.  I LOVE MUMIA. (FREE EM ALL!)  Ironically the ones who speak the freeest, are in captivity.  Maybe I’ll vote for Leonard Peltier, if he’s on the ballot this year.


3 Responses to “ROCK THE VOTE? OBAMA=CHANGE?”


  1. October 14, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Wow, I might move to San Fran. I don’t want McCain as president, so Obama it is.

  2. October 14, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    McCain is not even a consideration. Have you heard of that saying about when white folks go into the voting booth and vote against Barack because he is Black? well, for me, it’s like, despite all of the hegemonic and democratic party values that Obama represents, in the voting booth, I’ll vote Obama instead of Ralph Nader because my heart wants to vote in the first Black president, and *hope* that he and Rev Wright had decided to publicly denounce each other but privately break bread so that Obama could first get INto office and try to make SOME changes. Keep my expectations higher than it has been for most of my adult life and I might be suprised.

  3. October 21, 2008 at 2:24 am

    “It gets lonely being one of the few people of color skeptics of Obama and the electoral voting system.”

    Tell me about it! I thought I was the only one who felt that way. I get people giving me looks like I’ve grown a second head whenever I voice my strong dislike of Obama, amazed that I’m not automatically in support just because we both have brown skin. Argh! Also sick of people thinking Obama will be progressive just because of said skin color. pfft! Yeah, he’ll be the first PART-black President if he wins. Whoopie-doo! But if he holds to the same, tired, spineless Democratic party line that’s been out there for the past eight or so years? No. That’s the main reason I have no faith in him; the Democrats have let down the country far too often.

    And Rev. Wright…I have a personal dislike of. I went to school with his stepson and all my interactions with him, he was a bit of an ass.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 105,491 hits
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

follow M.Passion’s twitters

INTERESTED IN A SIDE JOB? TRY SEX WORK!

[ Hot and Nasty Phone Sex at TalkSugar.com! ]

WHORE REVOLUTIONARY READING LIST


